The King-fisher!

I took this photo 6 days back when I went to the zoo. Just wanted to shoot a bird for a long time after a failed to click even one good photo for my environmental science project. This is something I came with after chasing the bird for around 10 mins!! Literally she didn’t sat stationary at any place for more than 5 sec or so! Nevertheless I  got the shot I wanted to. Aristotle correctly said

Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet.

The zoo bird

After a lot of research I finally found out her name which came out to be Stork Billed Kingfisher and the scientific name being Pelargopsis capensis.  Happy to know its a Kingfisher!

Well one thing I would like to tell you people is that Stork Billed Kingfisher comes under the LEAST CONCERN category of the IUCN red list which means that we have abundant kingfisher  right now but that doesn’t mean we go on rampantly killing them!

You all would be astonished to know but a kingfisher is the largest bird that can hover and stay still in the air!

CHEERS.

Leave a Reply

